Monday, August 13, 2007

"I'm Not There" aka "I'm Not There: Suppositions on a Film Concerning Dylan"

The track listing for the new Todd Haynes directed Bob Dylan biopic, "I'm Not There," has been posted on Vinyl Fever. The film, which follows the life of the singer at different periods of his career, features six different actors playing the lead in each phase, including Heath Ledger, Christian Bale, Richard Gere, Marcus Carl Franklin, Ben Wishaw and Cate Blanchett (featured in the picture to the left). Other names of note featured in the film are David Cross (of the sorely missed Arrested Development) as Allen Ginsberg, and the late great Woody Guthrie, being played by the relatively unknown, Garth Gilker. It is slated for a limited US release on November 21, 2007 There has been some buzz from a while about this film and it's unconventional approach.

The immense soundtrack, which looks incredible promising, is set to be released on October 30, which will surely fan the flames as the movies release date approaches. The track list is posted below (in alphabetical order), and includes the Dylan rarity, "I'm Not There," a Basement Tapes Sessions gem which has never been officially released. My own little downloadable Dylan cover list follows.

  • All Along the Watchtower - Eddie Vedder & The Million Dollar Bashers
  • As I Went Out One Morning - Mira Billote
  • Ballad of a Thin Man - Stephen Malkmus & The Million Dollar Bashers
  • Billy - Los Lobos
  • Can You Please Crawl Out You Window - The Hold Steady
  • Cold Irons Bound--Tom Verlaine & The Million Dollar Bashers
  • Dark Eyes--Iron & Wine & Calexico
  • Fourth Time Around--Yo La Tengo
  • Goin' To Acapulco--Jim James & Calexico
  • Highway 61 Revisited--Karen O & The Million Dollar Bashers
  • I Wanna Be Your Lover--Yo La Tengo
  • I'm Not There--Bob Dylan
  • I'm Not There--Sonic Youth
  • Just Like A Woman--Charlotte Gainsbourg & Calexico
  • Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues--Ramblin' Jack Elliot
  • Knockin' On Heaven's Door--Antony & The Johnsons
  • The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll--Mason Jennings
  • Maggie's Farm--Stephen Malkmus & The Million Dollar Bashers
  • Mama You've Been On My Mind--Jack Johnson
  • The Man In The Long Black Coat--Mark Lanegan
  • Moonshiner--Bob Forrest
  • One More Cup Of Coffee--Roger McGuinn & Calexico
  • Pressing On--John Doe
  • Ring Them Bells--Sufjan Stevens
  • Seqor (Tales Of Yankee Power)--Willie Nelson & Calexico
  • Simple Twist Of Fate--Jeff Tweedy
  • Stuck Inside Of Mobile With Memphis Blues Again--Cat Power
  • The Times They Are A Changin'--Mason Jennings
  • Tombstone Blues--Richie Havens
  • When The Ship Comes In--Marcus Carl Franklin
  • Wicked Messenger--The Black Keys
  • You Ain't Goin 'Nowhere--Glen Hansard & Markta Irglov
  • Can't Leave Her Behind--Stephen Malkmus & Lee Ranaldo

My Own Dylan Tribute Compilation
Jack Johnson with Alo - I Shall Be Released
Uncle Tupelo - Moonshiner
Steve Earle - My Back Pages
P J Harvey - Highway 61 Revisited
Pearl Jam - Masters of War (Live)
Gillian Welch - Billy (Live)
Dave Matthews Band - All Along The Watchtower (Live)
Cat Power - Kingsport Town
Ani Difranco - Hurricane
Chris Smither - Visions of Johanna
Robyn Hitchcock - Desolation Row
Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds - Death Is Not The End